Fleur Glovelet Pattern

5

January 5, 2015 by holy rollin hooker

So, I’m always looking for something new and interesting to make with crochet. I also love accessories and other super girly things. These glovelets satisfy both those criteria.

I call these glovelets because they’re not quite wrist or arm warmers in that they don’t really provide enough coverage to actually keep you warm. I came up with them because I really, really love those dainty little lacy Victorian gloves that women used to wear.

lace glovesNow…lace gloves aren’t really that practical for my everyday life, so this emerged as a compromise.

IMG_1210Materials:

  • DK or Light Worsted Weight Yarn
  • 2 Buttons (Fancy or Plain)
  • Size (F) Hook for S/M; size (G) Hook for L/XL

*A note on the yarn: Don’t be afraid to use somewhat unconventional materials sometimes. For this project, I actually used some utility cotton twine that I found in the hardware section of my local dollar store. I use it for many different projects that I want to have a more natural cottony look and feel. It’s just a buck for 420 feet. That’s 140 yards for $1.

IMG_1233Special Stitches:

Picot: ch 3, sl st in 3rd ch from hook

Pattern (Make 2)

Ch 14 and sl st in first ch to form a ring

Rnd 1: ch 1, 18 sc in ring. Sl st in first sc to join.

Rnd 2: ch 1, *sc in sc, ch 18, skip next 5 sc; rep from * around, sl st in first sc to join.

Rnd 3: Sl st in next ch-18 loop, ch 1, 18 sc in each ch-18 loop around, sl st in first sc to join.

Rnd 4: ch 1, *sc in sc, ch 3, skip next sc; rep from * around, sl st in first sc to join.

Rnd 5: Sl st to center of next ch-3 loop, ch 1, (sc, ch 4) in each ch-3 loop around, sl st in first sc to join.

Rnd 6: Sl st in next ch-4 loop, ch 1, 4 sc in each ch-4 loop around, sl st in first sc to join.

Rnd 7: Ch 1, *sc in each of next 4 sc, picot; rep from * around, sl st in first sc to join. Fasten off.

That’s the motif. Now it’s time to turn it into a glovelet.

You’ve basically made a triangle. There should be one picot at the top just about in the center of the triangle. You’ll use that as your starting point making sure that you’re working on the RS of the motif.

IMG_1231Join yarn to that picot. Ch 20, sl st in first ch to form the loop that will go over your middle finger. Fasten off.

IMG_1228Count over 8 picot stitches to the left of that first picot. Join the yarn to the 8th picot st, ch 8, sl st in first ch to form the loop for the button. Fasten off.

IMG_1230Now count over 8 picot stitches to the right of the top picot. Use matching thread to sew your button on to the 8th picot.

IMG_1229IMG_1218_Fotor_CollageRepeat all of this for the second glovelet, and you’re done. It takes me about 30 minutes to do one complete glove. So in about an hour, you’ll have a stylish Victorian inspired accessory that you can wear with jeans and a blouse or to your next Renaissance fair.

5 thoughts on “Fleur Glovelet Pattern

  1. C. Crowley says:

    Lovely. I think it would look better in, say, deep red on my (white) skin color, but the white is gorgeous on you. Also I’d like to try it with loops for all the fingers — not thumb though. I will have a go at it.your pattern. Thanks for thinking this up!

    Like

    • That was one of the colors I wanted to recreate the glovelets in, especially for the holiday season. It would just look so deliciously Victorian. Alas, ADD kicked in and I abandoned the whole thing. Maybe maybe it’s time for a revisit…

      Like

  2. C. Crowley says:

    Where would I _wear_ them? I can’t imagine, except to my parents’ house to impress them. Maaaaaybe church but it would be kind of conspicuous. I don’t go to parties, worse luck. The knitters’ and crocheters’ guild?

    Like

    • I’m one of those crazy people who love to dress a bit dramatically. I don’t go to many…ahem…any parties myself, so I try to add some dramatic flare to my every day dressing. I would and have certainly worn these t church, but I’ve also worn them to museums and craft/music/art festivals with a maxi skirt, flowy blouse, and strappy sandals. I’ve also worn them to my local farmer’s market with jeans and little crochet sweater.

      When all else fails, there’s a Renaissance festival in almost every major city…

      Liked by 1 person

      • C. Crowley says:

        Craft fair, now that’s a GOOD idea, and so is Ren Faire, which I have not been to one in 36 years… argh… it’s about time. There’s also city festivals of one kind and another here where they would fit right in. I’m going to go get some of that dark red thread today. I’d love to dress dramatically, but it’s pants and Walmart T-shirts around here, I’m afraid.

        Like

Leave a Reply

What We’ve Covered So Far

Categories

eMLee Crochet Gifts on Etsy

Instagram Madness

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 137 other followers

