Ditch the Pattern, Pt. 1

Leave a comment

November 24, 2014 by holy rollin hooker

I am not a person who likes a whole lotta rules and restrictions. I like to wing things and just see where they take me. This is especially true in my creative process. When it comes to crochet, I tend to make designs up as I go. And most times, my machinations turn out pretty good. We simply aren’t going to talk about the times when they don’t.

So, here is one of my first ever organic, pattern free creations that turned out to be more than just a scarf or hat.

IMG_1119The first thing I did on this tunic is the ribbed waistband. I did this first because I knew it had to be the most fitted part of the garment. Of course to do ribbing, you work in single crochet stitches and in the back loops only.

The next part was the top

IMG_1123I wanted a fairly open mesh top because it was like 80 degrees when I was making this, and I wanted something that wouldn’t be too warm up top. I’m one of them there easy sweaters. I almost always have a light glisten going on.

I wanted this to be colorblocked, so I did the bottom in a forest green. That, and I only had one skein of the peach and I knew it wasn’t going to be enough to do the whole dress.

IMG_1122The bottom is a combo of simple double crochets and some mesh stitching. The hem is a classic shell edging. I’m sure I increased a few times somewhere in there, but I honestly cannot remember. That’s one of the drawbacks of pattern free creation. It’s nearly impossible to duplicate it exactly.

Once I finished, it felt like it needed something else, so I added a cute little crochet flower for decoration. It also helps me tell the front from the back.

IMG_1125All of the stitches and techniques I used to make this are really basic. All the magic comes in how you put it all together.

Leave a Reply

What We’ve Covered So Far

Categories

eMLee Crochet Gifts on Etsy

Instagram Madness

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 137 other followers

