Working with Eyelash Yarn

1

November 10, 2014 by holy rollin hooker

So I took a trip to my local craft store and what do you think I saw? Several huge containers of yarn all 50% off, that’s what the heck I saw. Well, in the immortal words of Ernie Ford, my eyes bucked out farther than a stumped on bull frog.

There was only one small problem though. Once I started to rummage manically through the bins (foaming at the mouth and all), it didn’t take me long to discover that most of the yarns were specialty yarns. This is normally the stuff I completely skip over as being uninteresting in the yarn store.

However, never being one to let a good deal pass me by, I scooped up a bunch of these beautiful rust colored eyelash skeins for like 65 cents each figurin’ to make a cute little furry capelet out of them. And that’s just what I’m doing.

eyelashIMG_0941I thought I would have this all worked up with the pattern by today, but alas, my work as a freelance editor and proofreader is catching up to me a bit, and I haven’t been able to work on it as much as I’d like. So the pattern’s gonna have to wait another week. Until then, though, I have learned some great tips for working with eyelash yarn that I’d like to share with you now.

  • The first thing you wanna do is make sure you’re working with a big hook. I would recommend nothing smaller than a J hook. Anything smaller than that will result in much consternation and gnashing of teeth on your part. Trust me on this one y’all. I have the gnashed teeth to prove it.
  • You want to work two strands at one time: one strand would be the eyelash strand, and the other would be a regular, solid worsted weight yarn. If you work with the eyelash yarn alone, you will never, ever be able to see the actual stitches. Be careful of what pattern you make with this though. Since you’re working with two strands of yarn, your finished fabric is gonna be pretty thick and dense. So, this’ll probably work best with a cool weather garment like a sweater, muff, scarf, or like me, a capelet.

IMG_0944IMG_0945When choosing your second, solid yarn, use this as an opportunity to be creative. Ordinarily, you’d want a matching yarn, but I chose to use one that was just a shade or two off. This creates some interesting dimension to the finished piece.

  • For the sake of your own sanity, try to make something where a super accurate stitch count is not all that important. Even with the extra strand of solid yarn, working with the eyelash yarn can be awkward, and it is really easy to miss stitches or pick up extra stitches in a row. Working on a project where you can either leave that stitch out or pick it up in the next row will save you a mort of aggravation.

That’s my advice for the day, and I hope this inspires you to take another look at those bargain bin yarns.

One thought on “Working with Eyelash Yarn

  1. […] I promised in last week’s post Working with Eyelash Yarn, here is the finished product and pattern for the Eyelash […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

What We’ve Covered So Far

Categories

eMLee Crochet Gifts on Etsy

Instagram Madness

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 137 other followers

