Motif Magic

3

October 13, 2014 by holy rollin hooker

A while ago I started fooling around with motifs. I mostly use them to make jewelry and crochet embellishments, but every now and again, I get a hankering for making something wearable.

I started making this skirt about a year and a half ago. As with most things I do, I hadn’t really planned it out or anything. I just started making the motifs and had some much fun that I kept making them. That being said, there is nothing even slightly resembling a pattern that I can attach to this post.

IMG_0728Well eventually, I got totally bored making the motifs and slowed down production big time. I added a few motifs every month (attaching them as I went along) and eventually stopped at this midi length skirt. There is something like 138 motifs in all.

IMG_0732The ribbed waistband is something I added on later. The first row of motifs is literally sewn onto the back of the waistband. I’m sure there is a better way of adding a waistband, but I don’t know it, so I did this.

IMG_0737The drawstring is a temporary fix. I’ll eventually add lining and elastic. Lord only knows when I’ll do that seeing as how I am totally uninterested in actually finishing off this garment. That’s what happens when you have a really short attention span. You’re always looking for the next…ooh…a butterfly…

3 thoughts on “Motif Magic

  1. […] A few weeks ago I did a post on the magic of motifs where I featured a crochet skirt that I constructed from two different motifs (you can check that out here). […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

What We’ve Covered So Far

Categories

eMLee Crochet Gifts on Etsy

Instagram Madness

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 137 other followers

